NRS (Nevada Revised Statutes)
The Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) are all the current codified laws of the State of Nevada. Nevada law consists of the Constitution of Nevada (the state constitution) and Nevada Revised Statutes. The Nevada Supreme Court interprets the law and constitution of Nevada.
Below, you will find NRS codes that we referenced to on our website.
NRS 118A.150 “Rent” defined.
“Rent” means all periodic payments to be made to the landlord for occupancy of a dwelling unit, including, without limitation, all reasonable and actual late fees set forth in the rental agreement. (Added to NRS by 1977, 1331; A 1999, 984)
NRS 40.253 https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-040.html#NRS040Sec253
NRS 40.2514 Unlawful detainer: Assignment or subletting contrary to lease; waste; unlawful business;
nuisance; violations of controlled substances laws.
A tenant of real property or a mobile home for a term less than
life is guilty of an unlawful detainer when the tenant:
- Assigns or sublets the leased premises contrary to the covenants of the lease;
- Commits or permits waste thereon;
- Sets up or carries on therein or thereon any unlawful business;
- Suffers, permits or maintains on or about the premises any nuisance that consists of conduct or an ongoing
condition which constitutes an unreasonable obstruction to the free use of property and causes injury and damage to
other tenants or occupants of that property or adjacent buildings or structures; or
- Violates any of the provisions of NRS 453.011 to 453.552, inclusive, except NRS 453.336, therein or thereon, and remains in possession after service upon the tenant of 3 days’ notice to quit.
(Added to NRS by 1985, 226
; A 1989, 1232
; 2001, 1065
; 2003, 561
; 2007, 1287
NRS 40.2516 Unlawful detainer: Possession after failure to perform conditions of lease; saving lease from
A tenant of real property or a mobile home for a term less than life is guilty of an unlawful detainer when the tenant continues in possession, in person or by subtenant, after a neglect or failure to perform any condition or covenant of the lease or agreement under which the property or mobile home is held, other than those mentioned
in NRS 40.250 to 40.252, inclusive, and NRS 40.254, and after notice in writing, requiring in the alternative the performance of the condition or covenant or the surrender of the property, served upon the tenant, and, if there is a subtenant in actual occupation of the premises, also upon the subtenant, remains uncomplied with for 5 days after the service thereof. Within 3 days after the service, the tenant, or any subtenant in actual occupation of the premises, or any mortgagee of the term, or other person, interested in its continuance, may perform the condition or covenant and thereby save the lease from forfeiture; but if the covenants and conditions of the lease, violated by the lessee, cannot afterwards be performed, then no notice need be given.
(Added to NRS by 1985, 226)
NRS 40.254 Unlawful detainer: Supplemental remedy of summary eviction and exclusion of tenant from certain types of property.
Except as otherwise provided by specific statute, in addition to the remedy provided in NRS 40.251 and in NRS 40.290 to 40.420, inclusive, when the tenant of a dwelling unit which is subject to the provisions of chapter 118A of NRS, part of a low-rent housing program operated by a public housing authority, a mobile home or a recreational vehicle is guilty of an unlawful detainer, the landlord is entitled to the summary procedures provided in NRS 40.253 except that:
- Written notice to surrender the premises must:
- Be given to the tenant in accordance with the provisions of NRS 40.280;
- Advise the tenant of the court that has jurisdiction over the matter; and
- Advise the tenant of the tenant’s right to contest the notice by filing within 5 days an affidavit with the court
that has jurisdiction over the matter that the tenant is not guilty of an unlawful detainer.
- The affidavit of the landlord or the landlord’s agent submitted to the justice court or the district court must
- The date when the tenancy commenced, the term of the tenancy, and, if any, a copy of the rental agreement.
- The date when the tenancy or rental agreement allegedly terminated.
- The date when the tenant became subject to the provisions of NRS 40.251 to 40.2516, inclusive, together with
any supporting facts.
- The date when the written notice was given, a copy of the notice and a statement that notice was served in
accordance with NRS 40.280.
- A statement that the claim for relief was authorized by law.
- If the tenant is found guilty of unlawful detainer as a result of the tenant’s violation of any of the provisions
of NRS 453.011 to 453.552, inclusive, except NRS 453.336, the landlord is entitled to be awarded any reasonable attorney’s fees incurred by the landlord or the landlord’s agent as a result of a hearing, if any, held pursuant to subsection 6 of NRS 40.253 wherein the tenant contested the eviction.
(Added to NRS by 1985, 227
; A 1989, 1084
; 1991, 115
; 1995, 1853
; 2001, 1065
; 2003, 561
NRS 453.336 Unlawful possession not for purpose of sale: Prohibition; penalties; exception.
- Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, a person shall not knowingly or intentionally possess a
controlled substance, unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a prescription or order of a
physician, physician assistant licensed pursuant to chapter 630 or 633 of NRS, dentist, podiatric physician,
optometrist, advanced practice registered nurse or veterinarian while acting in the course of his or her professional
practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the provisions of NRS 453.005 to 453.552, inclusive.
- Except as otherwise provided in subsections 3 and 4 and in NRS 453.3363, and unless a greater penalty is
provided in NRS 212.160, 453.3385, 453.339 or 453.3395, a person who violates this section shall be punished:
- For the first or second offense, if the controlled substance is listed in schedule I, II, III or IV, for a category E felony as provided in NRS 193.130.
- For a third or subsequent offense, if the controlled substance is listed in schedule I, II, III or IV, or if the
offender has previously been convicted two or more times in the aggregate of any violation of the law of the United
States or of any state, territory or district relating to a controlled substance, for a category D felony as provided in NRS
193.130, and may be further punished by a fine of not more than $20,000.
- For the first offense, if the controlled substance is listed in schedule V, for a category E felony as provided in NRS 193.130.
- For a second or subsequent offense, if the controlled substance is listed in schedule V, for a category D felony
as provided in NRS 193.130.
- Unless a greater penalty is provided in NRS 212.160, 453.337 or 453.3385, a person who is convicted of the possession of flunitrazepam or gamma-hydroxybutyrate, or any substance for which flunitrazepam or gammahydroxybutyrate
is an immediate precursor, is guilty of a category B felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in
the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 6 years.
- Unless a greater penalty is provided pursuant to NRS 212.160, a person who is convicted of the possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana:
- For the first offense, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be:
- Punished by a fine of not more than $600; or
- Examined by an approved facility for the treatment of abuse of drugs to determine whether the person is
a drug addict and is likely to be rehabilitated through treatment and, if the examination reveals that the person is a
drug addict and is likely to be rehabilitated through treatment, assigned to a program of treatment and rehabilitation
pursuant to NRS 453.580.
- For the second offense, is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be:
- Punished by a fine of not more than $1,000; or
- Assigned to a program of treatment and rehabilitation pursuant to NRS 453.580.
- For the third offense, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.140.
- For a fourth or subsequent offense, is guilty of a category E felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS
- It is not a violation of this section if a person possesses a trace amount of a controlled substance and that trace
amount is in or on a hypodermic device obtained from a sterile hypodermic device program pursuant to NRS
439.985 to 439.994, inclusive.
- As used in this section:
- “Controlled substance” includes flunitrazepam, gamma-hydroxybutyrate and each substance for which
flunitrazepam or gamma-hydroxybutyrate is an immediate precursor.
- “Sterile hypodermic device program” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 439.943.
(Added to NRS by 1971, 2019; A 1973, 1214; 1979, 1473; 1981, 740, 1210, 1962; 1983, 289; 1987,
759; 1991, 1660; 1993, 2234; 1995, 1285, 1719; 1997, 521, 525,903; 1999, 1917; 2001, 410, 785, 797, 3067; 2007, 1864; 2013, 2084, 3173)
NRS 118A.390 Unlawful removal or exclusion of tenant or willful interruption of essential items or services; procedure for expedited relief.
- If the landlord unlawfully removes the tenant from the premises or excludes the tenant by blocking or
attempting to block the tenant’s entry upon the premises, willfully interrupts or causes or permits the interruption of
any essential item or service required by the rental agreement or this chapter or otherwise recovers possession of the
dwelling unit in violation of NRS 118A.480, the tenant may recover immediate possession pursuant to subsection 4,
proceed under NRS 118A.380 or terminate the rental agreement and, in addition to any other remedy, recover the
tenant’s actual damages, receive an amount not greater than $2,500 to be fixed by the court, or both.
- In determining the amount, if any, to be awarded under subsection 1, the court shall consider:
- Whether the landlord acted in good faith;
- The course of conduct between the landlord and the tenant; and
- The degree of harm to the tenant caused by the landlord’s conduct.
- If the rental agreement is terminated pursuant to subsection 1, the landlord shall return all prepaid rent and
security recoverable under this chapter.
- Except as otherwise provided in subsection 5, the tenant may recover immediate possession of the premises
from the landlord by filing a verified complaint for expedited relief for the unlawful removal or exclusion of the tenant
from the premises, the willful interruption of any essential item or service or the recovery of possession of the dwelling
unit in violation of NRS 118A.480.
- A verified complaint for expedited relief:
- Must be filed with the court within 5 judicial days after the date of the unlawful act by the landlord, and the
verified complaint must be dismissed if it is not timely filed. If the verified complaint for expedited relief is dismissed
pursuant to this paragraph, the tenant retains the right to pursue all other available remedies against the landlord.
- May not be filed with the court if an action for summary eviction or unlawful detainer is already pending
between the landlord and tenant, but the tenant may seek similar relief before the judge presiding over the pending
- The court shall conduct a hearing on the verified complaint for expedited relief not later than 3 judicial days
after the filing of the verified complaint for expedited relief. Before or at the scheduled hearing, the tenant must
provide proof that the landlord has been properly served with a copy of the verified complaint for expedited relief.
Upon the hearing, if it is determined that the landlord has violated any of the provisions of subsection 1, the court
- Order the landlord to restore to the tenant the premises or essential items or services, or both;
- Award damages pursuant to subsection 1; and
- Enjoin the landlord from violating the provisions of subsection 1 and, if the circumstances so warrant, hold the landlord in contempt of court.
- The payment of all costs and official fees must be deferred for any tenant who files a verified complaint for
expedited relief. After any hearing and not later than final disposition of the filing or order, the court shall assess the
costs and fees against the party that does not prevail, except that the court may reduce them or waive them, as justice
(Added to NRS by 1977, 1340
; A 1985, 1417
; 2003, 426
; 2011, 238